Employment and civil service law

Employment law is one of the areas that most often come to the fore, in the spheres of both private and public law. Ordinarily, a number of characteristics vary according to whether the working relationship is established with a private individual or with the State, a commune or other public authority with decision-making powers.

 

Particular attention must be paid to the written contract right from the start of negotiations to ensure effective coordination with social services and to respect fiscal requirements. This is particularly important for expatriates. As soon as an appointment is made, the employer and employee need to clarify questions relating to salary, reimbursement of expenses, overtime and even the general organization of the company, for example by defining staff conditions or stock option plans. For risky activities, particular attention must be paid to the responsibilities assumed by one or other party, as well as to codes of good practice.

 

The end of a contractual relationship, whether or not it is amicable, often gives rise to intense discussions on financial settlements, work certificates, and possible allowances, not to mention issues such as release from the obligation to work out notice and non-compete clauses.

 

Avocats concernés :

- Michel Chavanne
- Jean-Claude Perroud
- Jean-François Dumoulin
- Luc Recordon
- Jeanne-Marie Monney

r&associés
Grand-Chêne 4 et 8
Case postale 7283
1002 Lausanne

Tél: +41 21 345 36 40
Fax: +41 21 345 36 44 (Grand-Chêne 8)
Fax: +41 21 345 36 09 (Grand-Chêne 4)

Heures d'ouverture:
Lu-Ve: 09:00-12:00 / 14:00-17:00
Sa-Di: fermé

Droit du travail et de la fonction publique

Le droit du travail est l’un des thèmes qui revient le plus fréquemment sur le devant de la scène, aussi bien en droit privé qu’en droit public. D’ordinaire, nombre de particularités diffèrent lorsque le rapport de travail est établi avec une personne privée ou avec l’État, un commune ou une autre collectivité de droit public dotée d’un pouvoir de décision.

Une attention particulière doit être accordée au contrat écrit, dès le début des négociations afin d’assurer une bonne coordination avec les assurances sociales et de respecter les exigences fiscales. Ce point est particulièrement important pour les expatriés. Dès l’engagement, l’employeur et l’employé ont souvent le besoin de préciser les questions relatives aux salaires, aux remboursements de frais, aux heures supplémentaires ou encore à l’organisation générale de l’entreprise, par exemple par l’élaboration de règlements du personnel ou de plans d’intéressement (stock option plan).  Pour les activités à risque, une attention particulière doit être portée à la responsabilité assumée par les uns et les autres, ainsi qu’aux règles de bonne conduite.

Quant à la fin des rapports contractuels, plus ou moins paisible, elle donne lieu, souvent, à d’intenses discussions sur les modalités financières, le certificat de travail ou les éventuelles indemnités, sans parler de questions telles que la libération de l’obligation de travailler ou les clauses de non concurrence.

Avocats concernés :

- Michel Chavanne
- Jean-Claude Perroud
- Jean-François Dumoulin
- Luc Recordon
- Jeanne-Marie Monney

r&associés
Grand-Chêne 4 et 8
Case postale 7283
1002 Lausanne

Tél: +41 21 345 36 40
Fax: +41 21 345 36 44 (Grand-Chêne 8)
Fax: +41 21 345 36 09 (Grand-Chêne 4)

Heures d'ouverture:
Lu-Ve: 09:00-12:00 / 14:00-17:00
Sa-Di: fermé